Coastal Infrastructure Resilience

Dr. Dan Cox

Experimental and Numerical Study to Improve Damage and Loss Estimation due to Overland Wave and Surge Hazards on Near-Coast Structures
Oregon State University
dan.cox@oregonstate.edu

Building Resilient Communities

Dr. Phil Berke

Dr. Phil Berke

Local Planning Networks and Neighborhood Vulnerability Indicators
Texas A&M University
pberke@arch.tamu.edu
Dr. James Prochaska

Dr. James Prochaska

Communicating Risk to Motivate Individual Action
University of Rhode Island
jop@uri.edu

Dr. Robert Twilley

Integrated Approaches to Creating Community Resilience Designs in a Changing Climate
Louisiana State University
rtwilley@lsu.edu

Disaster Dynamics

Dr. Brian Blanton

Dr. Brian Blanton

A multi-tiered ADCIRC-based storm surge and wave prediction system
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Brian_Blanton@renci.org

Dr. Scott Hagen

Development of an optimized tide and hurricane storm surge model for the northern Gulf of Mexico (MS, AL, FL) for use with the ADCIRC Surge Guidance System
Louisiana State University
shagen@lsu.edu

Dr. Casey Dietrich

Improving the Efficiency of Wave and Surge Models via Adaptive Mesh Resolution
North Carolina State University
jcdietrich@ncsu.edu

Dr. Don Resio

The Incorporation of Rainfall into Hazard Estimates for Improved Coastal Resiliency
University of North Florida
don.resio@unf.edu

Dr. Isaac Ginis

Modeling the Combined Coastal and Inland Hazards from High-Impact Hypothetical Hurricanes
University of Rhode Island
iginis@gso.uri.edu

Education and Workforce Development

Dr. Robert Whalin

PhD in Engineering (Coastal Engineering and Computational Engineering concentrations) at an HBCU
Jackson State University
robert.w.whalin@jsums.edu

Dr. Ahmed Faik

Preparing Tomorrow’s Minority Task Force in Coastal Resilience through Interdisciplinary Education, Research and Curriculum Development
Johnson C. Smith University
afaik@jcsu.edu
Dr. Meherun Laiju

Dr. Meherun Laiju

Institutionalization, Expansion, and Enhancement of Interdisciplinary Minor: Disaster and Coastal Studies
Tougaloo College
mlaiju@tougaloo.edu

Prof. Ismael Pagán-Trinidad

Education for Improving Resiliency of Coastal Infrastructure
University of Puerto Rico-Mayagüez
ismael.pagan@upr.edu
Dr. Gavin Smith

Dr. Gavin Smith

Expanding Coastal Resilience Education at UNC
North Carolina State University
gsmith5@ncsu.edu

Completed Projects (as of July 1, 2018)

Dr. Larry Atkinson

Dr. Larry Atkinson

Stakeholder/End User Engagement Support of Two CRC Projects
Old Dominion University
latkinso@odu.edu
Dr. Victoria Bennett

Dr. Victoria Bennett

Establishment of a Remote-Sensing Based Monitoring Program for Performance Health Assessment of the Sacramento Delta
Rennselaer Polytechnic Institute
bennev@rpi.edu
Dr. Rachel Davidson

Dr. Rachel Davidson

An Interdisciplinary Approach to Household Strengthening and Insurance Decisions
University of Delaware
rdavidso@udel.edu
Dr. Jen Horney

Dr. Jennifer Horney

Implementing the Disaster Recovery Tracking Tool
University of Delaware (formerly TAMU)
horney@udel.edu
Dr. Barry Keim

Dr. Barry Keim

Disaster Science and Management Program at LSU
Louisiana State University
keim@lsu.edu
Dr. Sandra Knight

Dr. Sandra Knight

Development and Testing of a Project Management Curriculum for Emergency Managers
University of Maryland
skknight@umd.edu
Dr. James Opaluch

Dr. James Opaluch

Overcoming Barriers to Motivate Community Action to Enhance Resilience
University of Rhode Island
jimo@uri.edu
Dr. William "Al" Wallace

Dr. William “Al” Wallace

Community Supply Resiliency (COMSURE)
Rennselaer Polytechnic Institute
wallaw@rpi.edu