Skip to main content

The Homeland Security Act of 2002 granted the Department the authority to create university-based Centers of Excellence. The Centers are authorized by Congress and chosen by the Department’s Science and Technology Directorate through a competitive selection process.

There are currently 8 Centers of Excellence across the country, including the Coastal Resilience Center.

  • Borders, Trade, and Immigration Institute (BTI) — Led by the University of Houston, BTI develops technology-based tools, techniques, and educational programs for border management, immigration, trade facilitation, and targeting and enforcement of transnational borders.
  • Maritime Awareness Security Center (MASC) – Co-Led by the University of Alaska Anchorage and Stevens Institute of Technology, MASC develops technologies, products, and programs to enhance maritime security and resilience in dynamic marine environments.

Emeritus Centers:

  • Center for Visualization and Data Analytics (CVADA) — Co-led by Purdue University (visualization sciences – VACCINE) and Rutgers University (data sciences – CCICADA), CVADA creates the scientific basis and enduring technologies needed to analyze large quantities of information to detect security threats to the nation.
  • Food Protection and Defense Institute (FPDI) — Led by the University of Minnesota, FPDI defends the safety and security of the food system by conducting research to protect vulnerabilities in the food supply chain. FPDI was formerly named the National Center for Food Protection and Defense (NCFPD).
  • Coastal Hazards Center of Excellence (CHC) — Co-led by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Jackson State University, CHC performs research and develops education programs to enhance the nation’s ability to safeguard populations, properties and economies from catastrophic natural disasters.